It’s Like You Know Just What I Need

Dear Oliver,

This year was my second Mother’s Day since you came into the world and your gift to me was amazing!  You let me sleep until 8:45! Zachary and Gwendolynne helped me by cleaning the house and helping out with you so that I could put my feet up for some of the day.  You are 16 months old and you have grown so much.  Today I was going through my closet and I found a premie outfit that you wore when you came home from the hospital.  It was too big for you then and now you couldn’t fit your big toe in it!

You have learned how to throw a fit when you don’t get your way.  You stomp and cry and you let me know that you are not happy!  I don’t mind though because I know that tantrums are a sign that you are learning.  You have evolved into this little person with your own personality.  You have your own likes and dislikes.  Your favorite vegetable is green beans.  You love all fruits.  Right now you are cutting molars and your not too happy about that.

I finished the table I was painting for you room.  You like to open drawers and take things out so I painted an end table for you and put toys in it so you can satisfy that need.  You love it!  Your room is coming along!  You will soon be working on potty training and the crib will have to be replaced by a toddler bed.  It makes me sad sometimes to see you becoming a big boy.  A kid.  I miss the tiny baby who would stop crying the minute I picked him up.  The baby that worried me when I couldn’t get a burp.  The baby who woke me up in the middle of the night hungry.  I am so proud of you Oliver.  I am enjoying every minute.  I just wish those minutes would last a little longer.

Love,

Mommy

Say what you feel...I look forward to it!

